The Ugandan night life

Posted: July 21, 2007 in Blog

My instructions were to wait outside the post office for my ride. I took a matatu (the taxi-vans that careem wildly around the city) from the hostel to downtown, where the post office sits across the street from a huge Barclay’s bank. The streets¬†of downtown were filled with well-dressed men and women, but there¬†are always reminders of the poverty that exists¬†here.¬†Walking to the post office, I passed a young boy, no more than three years old, sitting alone, cross-legged on the sidewalk begging for money. Everyone passing by, not paying him much attention. I soon reached the post office¬†and waited for the ride that would take me out for my first taste of Ugandan night life.

 Elias and I first went to a bar near where he lived, which meant navigating the terrible roads this city is trying to fix in time for the CHOGM conference happening here in November. Once there, we sat back with a couple beers and talked before the others arrived.

¬†“It doesn’t matter where you come from, journalism is universal,” Elias said, with fire in his eyes. It sparked a wide-ranging talk about business reporting, currency, and policies developed countries have towards the developing world.

 The others soon arrived and off we went to Fat Boyz, a club that had the music pumping and the drinks flowing. We danced the night away and had a great time. I stumbled back to the hostel about 3 in the morning feeling pretty good about being here.

¬†Yesterday was also my first market experience. It was a bit intimidating, but fun. I bought a nice shirt, dress pants and a good pair of work shoes to get me started. The others were surprised, and impressed, when I told them I’d gone there alone so soon after arriving. But I’ve enjoyed walking the city these past few days, getting lost, and findnig my way out. It’s the best way to get to know a new place.

Leave a Reply

