Wherein Chris learns a lesson…

Posted: July 29, 2007 in Blog

I’ve done fairly well so far when I experiment with foods while eating out. This morning, though, did not go quite as well.

While down at the local outdoor market buying newspapers I thought I’d find somewhere to get breakfast. There was a take-out stall nearby that I’d had dinner at before, and there were people there eating breakfast-y looking foods, so I figured it would be a safe bet.

I walked in and asked the man working there if he could suggest something for breakfast. He nodded, and turned his back to me to prepare something. A few minutes later, he presented me a plate of sliced, deep-fried “chop” (we’re not quite sure what animal this chop came from) and a hard-boiled egg. Mmmm. I had to laugh when I asked for a cup of mango juice and he gave me a one litre container of it.

Deep-fried meat chop, a hard-boiled egg and a litre of mango juice: the breakfast of champions.

On a brighter note, I’ve discovered the wonder of rolexes. Not the watch, but the roadside food.

All over the city, usually near the markets, you can buy a rolex for 500 shillings (about 30 cents). It’s esssentially a crepe, with an omellete wrapped up inside. It makes for a tasty, and quick, meal.

Comments
  1. Jeff says:

    If you are particular about a breakfast of champions, send me down and I’ll be your chef in the mornings. Bacon ‘n eggs my friend, what a smell to wake up to! Maybe they have giant beasts or “hogs” as they are called in Lord of the Flies, that’d be your source of bacon for a month or two. I work for 1,000 shillings/day……that’s good right??? Good call on the rolex’s btw. 🙂

Leave a Reply

