Roadside hemming

Posted: August 3, 2007 in Blog

My favourite pants since I came over here have been the MEC lightweight pants I bought before I came. They’re durable, and the legs zip off to become shorts so the two-for-one function came in handy as I tried to pack lightly.

One catch though. They were too long. Far too long. I had rigged up a system of safety pins around the cuff to hold them in place, but they were constantly falling out and so the bottoms of my pants had become, well, caked in red clay. (Cue first direct reference to website name).

I needed to do something about it, but hadn’t gotten around to it. Until today.

Today I was walking to work and passed a guy on the side of the street using his pedal-powered antique sewing machine to make pants. I walked past him, then a thought struck me.

I turned around, walked back to him and, after saying hi, asked if he could help me.

“Sure,” he said.

And with that, I zipped off the bottoms of the pants and handed them to him. So I was left sitting on a ledge in my shorts-formerly-known-as-pants, chatting away with him and some of his friends as he went to work.

Two minutes later, I was strolling down the road with pant cuffs decidely off-the-ground. Now all I need to do is decide what to do with all these extra safety pins…

Leave a Reply

