The Trip Home

Posted: August 16, 2007 in Blog

After a couple more stops in Lira, we left about 5:30 p.m. Tuesday for the long drive back to Kampala. We flew through Northern Uganda and got to the bridge that crosses into Southern Uganda just a few minutes before sunset. I asked if we could pull over so I could take a picture of the river, and so we did.

We pulled over and as I walked back to the bridge soldiers came storming out of the bush. “What are you doing, what are you doing??”

“Just taking a picture of the river,” Innocent Chris replied.

“No pictures, no pictures!” the first soldier yelled.

“I’m just taking a picture of the river, it’s no problem,” Chris
answered, clearly thinking it a good idea to get in an argument with
armed soldiers.

“Who gave you permission? Where is your letter of permission?”

“Letter of permission? Who would I go to for permission to take a picture of water?”

It’s about now that I realized their concern was the bridge. Photographing the bridge was strictly off-limits. I reassured them I had no interest in the bridge, just the river. The soldier eventually relented when the Opposition MP got out of the car and explained to the soldier that I was a journalist and allowed to take pictures.

Mildly frazzled, but more amused than anything, I continued walking to the bridge, looking to my left and seeing the eyes of another soldier kneeling in the bush. So appreciate this photo, I worked hard for it:

6861.jpg

We got back to Kampala just shy of 2 a.m. Wednesday morning, quite happy to head to bed.

Comments
  1. Jen Kraemer says:

    Hey Chris,

    What an incredible depiction of your trip north. Thank you so much for posting the stories and the photos – they are incredible! Stay safe…get some meds for that tummy of yours and keep the stories coming (I very much enjoy the read).

    -Jen

  2. cmason2 says:

    Hey Jen, thanks! The tummy is all better now. But I’m going to be a bit more careful from now on (I think going almost a month with few, if any, problems made me a little cocky about what food I could manage).

  3. Kate Mason says:

    Wow, amazing description of your trip Chris. It sounds like you’re having a pretty extraordinary experience. The pictures were great.
    I really hope you don’t have any more unpleasent run-ins with the local food. That can’t be too fun.
    Miss you tons,
    Your Number One Baby Sister xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

