It’s Raining Strikes

Posted: August 23, 2007 in Blog

Of all the things I thought I would do in Uganda, bowling was not one of them.

Yesterday a friend asked me what my plans were for the night. Nothing really, beyond a trip to the gym.

“Wanna go bowling?”

….. Bowling?….

I can count the number of times I have gone bowling on one hand, and still have a surplus finger or two.

But hey, why not? So off we went. It was a great night, that introduced me to a few new things:

-Namely, bowling barefoot.

-The increased precision of bowling from between your legs when trying to knock down a single pin

-How hard it is to concentrate on bowling when an office party is singing karaoke “We are the world” all together on stage (what corporate team-builders’ dreams are made of).

The group of us split into two teams of three and played against each other. Our team was behind until, all of a sudden we started rolling strikes and spares like it was our job. We pulled off the come-from-behind victory. As we celebrated, I leaned over to one of my teammates. “Does it bother you at all that we mounted our comeback just as someone began singing ‘It’s Raining Men’ on karaoke??”

Leave a Reply

