This hurts me more than it hurts you

Posted: August 31, 2007 in Blog

Dear Mark’s Work Wearhouse,

We’ve had some good times, you and me.

Remember that time you sold me my first pair of steel-toed boots? Or that time I didn’t think it was possible to find a flannel plaid shirt that would be considered ‘formal’, until you proved me wrong?

Or how about the first time I bought Carhartt pants from you? I’ll never forget that day.

But Mark’s Work Wearhouse, there’s something I need to tell you.

There’s another store.

No, no, it’s not what you think. I haven’t bought anything from L.L. Bean. Or even Bass Pro Shop. Nothing like that, Mark’s Work Wearhouse.

You see, it’s the markets here in Uganda.

Today I bought a plaid shirt for 60 cents.

I know, I know, I told you I’d never buy plaid from anybody else.

But how can you beat those prices, Mark’s Work Wearhouse?

I had to cross open sewers, walk past fly-infested butcher shops and elbow my way through piles of produce to get to the young guy selling shirts off the top of a pile of clothes in the market.

Sure, your sales people are friendly, and your quality second-to-none. But it’s the atmosphere. Your suburban stylings just can’t compare.

I think it’s time we moved on. Or at least took a break.

Don’t get too upset. There are other 20-something fellas out there with a penchant for plaid.

At least I think there are.

With affection, and a healthy dose of guilt,

Chris

Comments
  1. Shannon says:

    Wow. Chris has clothes guilt. I never thought I’d live to see the day.

    Let’s see how long that 60 cent shirt holds up.

    Is plaid subtly different in Uganda? On a bit of an angle? Different ratio (of what to what, I don’t know)?

  2. cmason2 says:

    The plaid is remarkably similar. Though no flannel. Which surprises me, given that any time the temperatures drops below, say, 23 degrees, people start pulling out winter jackets and toques.

Leave a Reply

