Marketing 101

Posted: September 20, 2007 in Blog

Now I’m no marketing genius, but I seriously doubt the effectiveness of the billboard I saw today. It was an ad for a rice, billing it as the most ‘fragrant’ rice on the market.

There are certain things that should be fragrant. Cologne should be fragrant. Perfume should be fragrant. Heck, shampoo can even be fragrant.

Rice? Rice cannot be fragrant. Effective rice marketing campaigns should use catchphrases like “bland” and “nondescript”.

But I could be wrong. I’ll be sure to take a good whiff the next time I have a rice dish.

Comments
  1. Jen Kraemer says:

    I had to laugh at this entry Chris.

    I made Jasmine rice the other week and I am positive it falls in the category that these marketers are marketing! It made my entire home smell; the smell wasn’t exactly offensive, however, I would not refer to it as a “fragrant” aroma, more like an overwhelming funk.

  2. cmason2 says:

    Ohhh, overwhelming funk, that’d be a fantastic tagline!

Leave a Reply

