Critter companions

Posted: December 1, 2007 in Blog

I have come to embrace the animal companions that are a part of everyday life here. There are the monkeys who are more often heard than seen, the chickens and hens that, with the church choirs and mosque calls to prayer, fight for the right to wake me up in the morning. There are also the marabou storks who simply creep the heck out of me and flock to the trees around my house in the dozens. If ever there was a creature lacking a redeeming quality, it would be a marabou stork.

Inside the house, the odd cockroach pops by to say hi. But it is the geckos that rule the roost. Come sundown, these little critters emerge from shady corners to prowl the walls in search of bugs. Given the ability of a single mosquito to drive one mad at night, I would gladly host a gecko commune.

The geckos are mostly shy, and tend to prowl most of the house. But one little guy seems to have taken quite a shine to my room, so much so that he has a name: Gord. This little guy has a curious streak that has him turn up at the least expected times.

A couple nights ago I was digging around in my backpack for something when, with all four legs flailing, Gord came flying out of my backpack, soaring for a few feet before he landed softly and made a dash for the outside world underneath my bedroom door. On more than one occasion, he and I have come eye to eye when, in the middle of the night, I roll over in bed to find him perched on the wall a few inches from my face. We stare at each other for a few seconds before I go back to sleep and he returns to his nocturnal hunt.

This morning I was coming home, eager to get some sleep before the sun crested the horizon, when Gord came wandering out from underneath my bedroom door just before I opened it. He, looking for somewhere dark and cool to rest after a long night looking for bugs, and me, doing the same. Except for the bugs.

Leave a Reply

