Snippets of conversation, or ‘Why there ain’t no ring on this finger’

Posted: December 7, 2007 in Blog

Scene: Entering the newsroom, Chris runs into a colleague from the paper. The colleague takes Chris by the hand, a common gesture here during conversation.

Colleague: Chris, how are you?

Chris: I’m good, I’m good. How are you?

Colleague: I’m good. How is Canada?

Chris (jokingly): I wouldn’t know, I’m not there.

Colleague: But you must talk with people in Canada. How is Canada?

Chris: Canada is good. But cold. It is very cold there now.

Colleague: How is your wife?

Chris: My wife? I do not have a wife.

Colleague, responding with mock horror: Why do you not have a wife? Do you want to die alone? Don’t you want to have children?

Chris, a little unsteady about having several major life decisions thrown at him before his day has even really begun: There is plenty of time for that. Just because I don’t have kids yet doesn’t mean I won’t ever have any. And look at you, you’re not married.

Colleague: But if I had enough money I would be married this year. I do not yet have enough money so I will be married next year.

Chris: Ah, ok.

Colleague: Do you not yet have enough money for a wife?

Chris, laughing
: I suppose not…

Comments
  1. Meghan says:

    Hahahahaha!
    Start saving up, Chris!

Leave a Reply

