The launch of Caked in Red Clay (Europe Edition)

Posted: March 20, 2008 in Blog

Sitting on a ferry between the Netherlands and the U.K., I’m about 25 hours into the approx. 31 hours it’ll take to get door-to-door from Kampala to London. So far, so good. Before catching the ferry, I popped into a small pub in an even smaller Dutch coastal village. It was nice, really nice.

Uganda was hard, very hard, to leave, even if there’s a chance my absence may only be temporary. Between farewells to friends, touring the markets to say goodbye to everyone and having the area boda-boda drivers ask if they could come with me to the airport to say good-bye, it was an emotional parting. But it ended nicely– sitting with a few friends on the shores of Lake Victoria having one last cold drink before stepping onto the plane.

Though this leg of the journey has only just begun, I can be assured of one thing: I am going to freeze. I’ve had three cups of tea and a cup of coffee since landing (and for anyone who knows me well and my complete avoidance of coffee, that should speak to the degree of coldness), and am still cold. Though I quite enjoyed the looks I got in the village, walking along the coast in sandals as I passed people in winter boots and coats. I think on my end the novelty will wear off pretty quickly, though. Item number one on the London agenda may very well be sweater-and-fuzzy-slipper shopping.

Once on the ferry I was chatting with a burly long-distance truck driver from the U.K. who said I had a nice tan. Off-putting, that.

So this will be a new phase for the site, as I’ll be in Europe for the next month. I’ll post as often as I can, but the nature of the posts will certainly be different than they have been (and my apologies for the lack of posting of late. The last month in Uganda was a blur and one that I didn’t do a good job of documenting). Feel free to swing by the site every now and then and have a look at what’s going on.

Now time to go refill the coffee cup…

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    Christopher Mason: Back in Plaid

  2. stefanie says:

    COFFEE! I am so proud, Chris.

  3. […] 16, 2008 · No Comments Writing here while aboard a ferry between the Netherlands and the U.K., I had hoped to write a fair bit on this […]

Leave a Reply

